Presidents Run

This year the President's run did not have good luck with the weather, it was 16 degrees and wet. Not full rain but that little bit of drizzle and with a hard head wind out made conditions difficult, aspecially for the not so fit ones.

A good bunch set off following the Club President Ben Walton at a good pace. Good depite the strong headwind and Ben admitting to being not very fit. Two punctures were had by Jason McCourt and Jack Watson, real pistol shots. After splitting and rejoining several times the group reached the outskirts of Sandhoe and everybody competed in the freewheel contest, which was won again by Stephen McIntosh with a reduced distance because of the headwind.

At Sanhoe a dozen hardy souls entered the Hill Climb Club Champs. On a wte and slippy ascent the winner was Kyle watts of Tyneside Vagabonds in a time of 2min 10sec. The fastest Barnesbury member was Andy Hale in a time of 2min 34sec and he wins the Hill Climb trophy again. The junior winner was young 12 year old Jack Watson in a time of 4min 4 secs., a good ride on the day.

When we all reached the Acomb Village hall the door was locked and we all stood around for 20 minutes or so until the caretaker was  found and a key produced. Robin and Pat Nichol again produced the much needed pots of tea and Alan Wilson and Christine brought along sausage rolls, mini pasties, carrot cake and fruit cake, which were soon polished of by a grateful mob of hungry cyclists.

The run back home was greatly helped by the Westerly wind and all were booling along at a great lick. The bunch were inevitably split at times as the fitter riders made gaps on the hills, but they all waited at Stamfordham and regrouped. All got home safely although some were cream crackered by that time. Here's to next year.

Results below are for the Club Hill Climb Competion up Fawcett Hill

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1K WattsTyne Vags 02:10 1661.54  
2Michael JamesTyneside Vagabonds 02:25 1489.66  
3A HaleBarnesbury CC 02:34 1402.60  
4R CaseTyneside Vagabonds 02:36 1384.62  
5B BoltonBarnesbury CC 02:57 1220.34  
6G TurnerBarnesbury CC 03:08 1148.94  
7D ManningBarnesbury CC 03:10 1136.84  
8C HortonBarnesbury CC 03:11 1130.89  
9J McCourtBarnesbury CC 03:14 1113.40  
10J ThornhillBarnesbury CC 03:35 1004.65  
11S McIntoshBarnesbury CC 03:35 1004.65  
12S WatsonBarnesbury CC 03:40 981.82  
13C BellBarnesbury CC 03:40 981.82  
14J WatsonBarnesbury CC 04:04 885.25  
15B BayneBarnesbury CC 04:08 870.97